Manifest Vinyl Records
Yo La Tengo – There’s A Riot Going On 2xLP

Yo La Tengo – There’s A Riot Going On 2xLP

Yo La Tengo – There’s A Riot Going On | 2 x Black Vinyl LP | OLE 1166-1 US

Yo La Tengo – There’s A Riot Going On is their 15th and, 2018 release from Matador Records. 2 Black vinyl records, card stock sleeve inserted into an outer sleeve, clear title logo sticker affixed to shrink wrap. Length: 63:31. Digital download coupon included.

We love Yo La Tengo and, over the years their music has developed into a niche all their own. A catalog of music running the sonic spectrum from distorted feedback to almost-whispered lullabies. There’s A Riot Going On is not hard, it’s a solid record with enough variety to keep from being boring, so filler tracks here, if you love Yo La Tengo of the Autumn Sweater years, this record will make you happy.

The sound quality of the vinyl is good with no noticeable noise on an average system. People with high-end audiophile systems, and a well-developed ear, will have to review the record to determine its overall audiophile quality.

For the rest of us; we played the track Shortwave, with its subtle sounds and samples, we could clearly hear soft-singing voices, synth sounds, bow on bass reverb, audio from tv/radio samples in the background, ambient noises, minimal guitar notes. The different sounds were audible and pleasing. Compared to the digital, (which is included with purchase) the vinyl was nearly identical.


Songs by Yo La Tengo except Polynesia #1 by Michael Hurley
Recorded by James McNew
Produced by Yo La Tengo
Mixed: Soma Electronic Music Studios by: John McEntire
Mastered: Sterling Sound by: Greg Calbi
Lacquer Cutting: Ray Janos
Design: Mark Ohe


Disc 1
1 You Are Here 5:43
2 Shades Of Blue 2:51
3 She May, She Might 5:22
Disc 2
1 For You Too 4:13
2 Ashes 3:11
3 Polynesia #1 2:25
4 Dream Dream Away 5:49
Disc 3
1 Shortwave 5:44
2 Above The Sound 5:38
3 Let’s Do It Wrong 2:53
4 What Chance Have I Got 3:05
Disc 4
1 Esportes Casual 1:25
2 Forever 3:50
3 Out Of The Pool 2:43
4 Here You Are 6:55

Spoon / Hot Thoughts

Spoon – Hot Thoughts Purple Vinyl 1xLP OLE-1128-1

Spoon’s latest release, Hot Thoughts is everything it supposed to be; catchy hooks, dynamic vocals and instruments. There are no bad songs in this record. And for vinyl you know that’s important, you can put it on the player and let it go. The record’s highlights, that you’ve undoubtedly heard so far, are “Hot Thoughts”, “Can I Sit Next to You?”. Other standouts, that you’ll need the record to hear, are “WhisperI’lllistentohearit”, “Pink Up”, “I Ain’t the One”. But, as mentioned, all the songs are great and listenable. If you love Spoon, then you’ll love their 9th album, Hot thoughts.

Vinyl color options: Black, pink, purple and clear vinyl.


Songs by Britt Daniel except tracks 1 & 9 by Britt Daniel & Sean Dineen, track 4 by Alex Fischel & Britt Daniel, track by Britt Daniel & LP, and track 10 by Ted Taforo & Britt Daniel

Produced by Spoon & Dave Fridmann

Recorded at: Tarbox Road Studios, Public Hi-Fi & The Catacomb by: Dave Fridmann

Mixed by Dave Fridmann

Mastered: Howie Weinberg

Design: Alan Hynes & Britt Daniel

Cover image: Christine Messersmith


Side A
1 Hot Thoughts 3:49
2 WhisperI’lllistentohearit 4:20
3 Do I Have to Talk You Into It 4:20
4 First Caress 2:48
5 Pink Up 5:57
Side B
6 Can I Sit Next to You 3:54
7 I Ain’t the One 3:47
8 Tear It Down 4:20
9 Shotgun 3:38
10 Us 4:57